hidden-bladeI’ve learned a lot of things in my life and doing A LOT of research before doing something I do not understand is one of them.

I have said this before, but Assassin’s Creed is probably one of my most favorite video game series. The trademark weapon of the games is the Hidden Blade. The Hidden Blade is a special switchblade that the assassins of the game use to perform stealthy attacks on their enemies. The blade is “hidden” on the forearm, attached to a special gauntlet. By tensing their forearm muscles and bending their hand back, the assassins eject the blade out of its sheathe.

I enjoy Assassin’s Creed so much that I was able to get my dad to order me a prop version of the Hidden Blade design that was from the most recent installment back in May as a reward for all my hard work studying for my AP Tests. I managed to get a massive discount for the prop by purchasing it for only $15 (original price $40). The blade is made out of a very dull plastic, but the entire gauntlet is moulded exactly like in the newest version of the game. I was very excited to try to make modifications to my new prop to make it work similar to the games. I was so enthusiastic that I attempted to modify it only three days after receiving it in the mail.

Currently, there is no way to make the prop Hidden Blades eject like in the game. It only takes a push of a button at the end of the blade to release the spring-lock mechanism that holds the blade in the sheathe. This is nothing like the video games, but even so, I did not give up hope, so I did some QUICK research on the Internet. There are various models of the Hidden Blade that are available, but they do not eject the blade similar to the games. There is a common modification for all of the models by drilling a tiny hole through the button and tying a long string that connects the hole with a ring that goes on the finger. Doing this makes it possible to bend the hand back, which yanks the string and pulls down the button, and having the illusion that just bending the hand ejects the blade.

This would not be the case for the model of the Hidden Blade that I purchased. I only started at the first step, which was drilling the hole through the button, and I realized that I made a big mistake. I drilled the hole through the button, but in the process I broke the spring-lock that prevented the blade from ejecting. There was a lock on the blade that prevents any unintentional misfires of the blade by accidentally pushing the button, but my project was ruined. Pushing the button would not eject the blade because it would just spring out on its own when the lock was off. I threw aside my Hidden Blade prop and was unable to look at it for months because I was so excited to buy it and I broke it after only a few days.

I was recently very lucky that my dad was nice enough to buy me a brand new copy of the Hidden Blade I broke, making me feel better about my mistake. After that incident, I promised myself that I would not modify this brand, new blade and not break it again.

One thought on “Mistakes and Replacements

Leave a Reply

